Drs. Malati and Ganesh Potdar

Indian American Heritage Center


YGIC is a legal entity registered with the IRS and state. It presently comprises of three operations. Heritage center houses the hall of fame Indian Americans. Seniors and the parents use the place as assembly hall.

The first Indian American Heritage Center in the US was completed in 2020.  Indian community does not believe in headstones. The center is to show our next generation about the Indian Immigrants who came to this country and contributed to this great land.

Our First Nominee of the center is Kamala Harris for 2020. Thirty more have been inducted as below for 2021. Every year we will be inducting 5 more. We portray their lives showing their universal values and what we can learn from it.

Nov, 2020: It is a proud day for all Indian Americans and more so for the people from the Greater Dayton area. Today, November 8th, the first Indian American Heritage Center named after Drs. Malati and Ganesh Potdar, will be inducting the first member of our Hall of Fame, our own Kamala Harris, who will be the First Female, First Asian American, and First Black Vice President of the United States. We in Dayton are becoming a part of history.


Ven S


Any comments to the curator can be sent via the above email.

If you are featured here and you want to write a word to us, please do so. We will be honored to post it here.





There are 3 stages in this process

  • Generation of content.
  • Moderation of content.
  • Display of content.

The following people have been nominated and are going to the next step. As we add people, it will be  posted. If you know more about the following people and you have a flair for writing, please do so and send it to indianamerican@ygic.us . If your narration got accepted, your name will displayed under the portrait as author. We have a method to the writing. We don't glorify the fortunes or misfortunes of people. We portray the values which stood by them and what we can learn from it. THe following ahve been nominated and are int he process of going up on the wall of fame for the year 2021.

  • Vinod Khosla

  • Ram Shriram, venture fund capitalist and one of the first investors in Google


  • Amar Bose


  • Anu Garg

  • Jhumpa Lahiri, Pulitzer Prize-winning author

Nobel Prize recipients

  • Har Gobind Khorana (1922-2011), Nobel Prize in Medicine, 1968

  • Subramanyan Chandrasekhar (1910-1995), Nobel Prize for Physics, 1983

  • Amartya Sen (b. 1933), Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences in 1998; professor of economics and philosophy at Harvard University

  • Abhijit Banerjee (b. 1961), Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences


  • Pramila Jayapal